Menu |
St Bernadette's is an 'Outstanding Catholic School' (Section 48 Inspection 2021). We are an OFSTED 'Good School' with Outstanding features in 'Behaviour and Attitudes' and 'Personal Development' (Ofsted Inspection 2022)
  • Translate
  • Search
Home Page

RSHE and Virtues

The Structure of the RSHE Curriculum


Catholic schools are required to deliver RSHE in accordance with the teaching of the Church. RSHE is part of the mission of Catholic schools to educate the whole person. At St Bernadette’s, RSHE is taught as part of a holistic education, which seeks to form as well as inform young people in preparation for adult life.

 In 2023-24, in line with Diocesan protocol, we launch a new RSHE programme – Ten:Ten Life to the Full. It is based on the structure of the CES model curriculum which was highlighted as a work of good practice by the Department of Education. It is in line with statutory guidance issued by the Department for Education and with the key content/concepts agreed through previous consultations. 

The RSHE programme is also enriched and complemented by our Virtues curriculum; the  RE curriculum, the Science National Curriculum, Computing and Online Safety materials and NSPCC and other safeguarding resources, additional focus weeks such as Anti-Bullying Week and Mental Health Week and tailored resources supporting ongoing positive mental health and positive behaviour all ensure full, enriching and engaging RSHE curriculum.


The Programme, ‘Ten:Ten Life to the Full’ is the recommended resource for Northampton Diocese because it is compiled specifically to present a Catholic vision. 


In each year group, an aspect of love is explored and developed starting from Early Years to Key Stage Two. Young people are encouraged to marvel at the wonder and beauty of God’s creative love reflected in each person under three key modules: Created and Loved by God; Created to Love Others; Created to Live in Community.


Each of the three modules are underpinned by specific themes (units) which are revisited and built upon in a sequential and age-appropriate manner.



Created and Loved by God explores the individual. Rooted in the teaching that we are made in the image and likeness of God, it helps children to develop an understanding of the importance of valuing themselves as the basis for personal relationships.


Created to Love Others

explores the individual’s relationships with others. Building on the understanding that we have been created out of love and for love, this unit explores how we take this calling into our family, friendships and relationships, and teaches strategies for developing healthy relationships.

Created to Live in Community explores the individual’s relationship with the wider world. Here we explore how human beings are relational by nature and are called to love others in the wider community through service, through dialogue and through working for the Common Good.


Religious understanding

Me, My Body, My Health

Emotional Wellbeing

Life Cycles

Religious Understanding

Personal Relationships

Life Online

Keeping Safe

Religious Understanding

Living in the Wider World



These areas of learning are taught within the context of family life promoted within the teachings of the Catholic Church, whilst ensuring that there is no stigmatism of children based on their home circumstances. Our teaching sensitively recognises that some children may have a different structure of support around them.


Early Years

Created and Loved by God

Created to Love Others

Created to Live in Community

Our uniqueness in real terms

Celebrating differences, talents and abilities

Looking after and using our bodies

The necessity of when and how to say sorry

Jesus’ forgiveness and growing up as God’s plan for us

Unit 2: Personal Relationships

Different family/friend relationships

Features of positive/negative behaviour in relationships

The importance of saying sorry and forgiveness within relationships

Unit 3: Keeping Safe

Practical ways to stay safe inside and out

Staying safe around medicines

People who help us in emergencies

 Children will learn that God is three in one: Father, Son and Holy Spirit

Know that they are loved and called to love others

Learn about the different communities they are part of and the responsibilities they have to them

Key Stage One


We are uniquely made by a loving God

We have differences and similarities

Key information about staying physically healthy

Understanding feelings and emotions, including strong feelings such as anger

The cycle of life from birth to old age

Unit 2: Personal Relationships

‘Special people’ in their lives who they love and can trust

Coping with various social situations and dilemmas

The importance of saying sorry and forgiveness within relationships

Unit 3: Keeping Safe

The risks of being online

The difference between good and bad secrets

Teaching on physical boundaries

The effects of harmful substances

Some basic First Aid

Children understand that God is love: Father, Son and Holy Spirit

Learn that being made in His image means being called to be loved and to love others

Learn about the various communities they belong to: home, school, parish, the wider community, the nation and the

global community

Know that God calls us to live in

community with one another

Lower Key Stage 2 (Y3-Y4)

Understanding differences

Respecting our bodies

Changing bodies (Y4 only)

. (Y4 Girls only – Puberty menstruation)

Strategies to support emotional

wellbeing Including practising


The development of pupils’ understanding of life before birth

Unit 2: Personal Relationships

Different family structures

Activities and strategies for developing healthy relationships with family and friends

Techniques for managing thoughts, feelings and actions

Unit 3: Keeping Safe

Online safety

Teaching on bullying and abuse

The effects of drugs, alcohol and tobacco

The crucial role of First Aid in emergency situations

 Children will develop a deeper

understanding that God is love as shown by the Trinity

Understand that the human family

reflects the Holy Trinity in mutual charity

and generosity

Know that the Church family comprises of home, school and parish

Catholic Social Teaching on what it means to work for the Common Good

Upper Key Stage 2


Appreciation of physical and emotional differences

A more complex understanding of physical changes in girls’ and boys’ bodies

Body image

Strong emotional feelings

The impact of the internet and social media on emotional well-being

A more nuanced and scientific understanding of life in the womb and how babies are made (Year 6 only)


Unit 2: Personal Relationships

Strategies for more complex experiences of relationships and conflict

How to identify and respond to spoken and unspoken pressure

The concept of consent

Further teaching on how our thoughts and feelings impact on how we act

Unit 3: Keeping Safe

Risks of sharing and chatting online

A more complex understanding of different forms of abuse (Year 6)

How drugs, alcohol and tobacco can

negatively affect people’s lifestyles

Essential First Aid such as DR ABC and the recovery position

 Children will know that God is Trinity –

a communion of persons

Learn that the Church is the body of Christ

Develop a deeper and richer understanding of Catholic social teaching

Learn how certain charities reach out to the wider community with love


Further information for parents about FGM (covered in Y6 programme) and other safeguarding issues can be found on the Keeping Safe pages of our school website


We run an annual parent information session to share the materials we use to teach our RSHE curriculum. The presentation from the most recent session can be seen below:

Christian Virtues form an integral part of our education at St Bernadette's. Find out more by following the link below.